The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time, 13 Years Later

It was November of 1998. I was just into my teenage years, and had had an N64 for just over a year. I was also just starting to use the Internet, as the local public library had some public use computers one could sign up to use for about an hour.

I had been following news of The Legend of Zelda 64 for a couple years, through Nintendo Power’s website. I’d seen pretty much all of the beta screenshots, including a famous one that showed a unicorn statue within a fairy fountain. My following of Zelda 64 news was what really brought me into using the Internet in general, but that’s a different discussion.

Earlier that year, my mom had put a pre-order down for The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time, guaranteeing that we would be getting a gold cartridge, collector’s edition version of the game. Then came that late November day, when my mom and I went out to the local gaming store and obtained our copy of the game. I remember seeing that shiny box cover, and reading the description on the back of the box.

I remember getting home, hooking up the N64 to the TV in my room, putting the game cartridge in the N64, and starting to play. It was magic. The game was fantastic. I remember getting home from school, finishing homework, and rushing over to my room to make progress on the game. My mom was also playing the game, and she was usually ahead of me.

The whole way through, even when I struggled through the infamous Water Temple, Ocarina of Time was amazing to play. Everything about it was wonderful. Then I beat the game.

In the years since, OoT has become not just my favorite N64 game, but perhaps my favorite video game from any console. I’ve always been a fan of The Legend of Zelda franchise, and this was just the best one in the series. I’ve replayed the game countless times since.

Nintendo had a pre-order bonus for The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker, which was a GCN disc that featured OoT and OoT Master Quest, a remix of the first game with more difficult dungeons. I played through and beat that.

So here we are, 13 years later, and OoT is being released on the 3DS. I don’t yet have a 3DS, but intend on getting one as soon as I can. The game looks beautiful on that system, and I’ve only seen the 2D version of images and video. I could just imagine what it looks like in 3D.


(Image courtesy @bengp02)

This game had so many rumors and mysteries attached to it. Due to beta screenshots, the rumor yet persists that you can somehow get the Triforce as an item in-game.

This has been irrefutably proven false, but the rumors have been around for so long that some people can’t be convinced otherwise.

All sorts of other lore exists for this game, ranging from the deleted dungeons to random things moved around from the beta builds to the final version.

You’ve come a long way in 13 years, Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time.

Leave a Reply

