Anticipating Vidya Games in 2011

With these last minutes of 2010 slipping away, I’m looking ahead to new video games (and a new console) that are due to be released (or I’m hoping they’ll be released, with some of these games) in this new year. Without further ado, I’ll go over the vidya games I’m looking forward to in this new year.

Starting off with the Wii, I still need to get copies of GoldenEye 007 and Epic Mickey (and maybe track down a copy of Super Mario Bros. All Stars 25th Anniversary, but that’s increasingly unlikely). But that’s it for games already out; I’m anticipating games that are yet to be released.

First there’s Lost in Shadow, slated for an early 2011 release. This title, which isn’t receiving that much attention, has intrigued me since first I heard about it in Nintendo Power. Basically, you play as a boy’s shadow. The boy in question has been captured at the top of a tower, and the Big Bad has ripped away the kid’s shadow, tossing it out of the tower. You play as the shadow, and the platforms you run and jump across are the shadows cast by physical objects in the game’s worlds. You can manipulate the lighting in areas, thereby adjusting and changing the layout of platforms. This idea for a game has intrigued me from the start, and it’s looking to live up to its potential.

Another Wii game I’m anticipating is, obviously, The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword, which will hopefully be released this year. Considering the typical development cycle for console Zelda games, I’ll not be surprised if this gets delayed until 2012, though. There’s not much justification I need to provide for my anticipation, beyond stating that it’s a new Legend of Zelda title, and a console game at that. What I’ve seen of the game from E3 2010 has me excited, especially as this looks to be reimagining what a Zelda game is. This game will likely not have a clear distinction between overworld and dungeon, for starters. The hints we’ve been given for the story also intrigue me. Please let this game be released in 2011, Nintendo.

That’s pretty much it for the Wii list, so let’s move on to the DS.

The first quarter of 2011 will be filled with RPGs, of course. Pokemon Black/White Versions will be released stateside, so I’ll finally be setting foot into the Unova region, and capturing Fifth Gen Pokemon. There’s really not that much more to comment on with this, other than, more Pokemon to catch, and that I’ll definitely be playing one or the other of these titles.

Next up on the DS is the March release of Dragon Quest VI for the DS. I’ve been avoiding these remakes thus far (as I’ve played translations of the originals via emulators), but I’ve never played DQ6. I’m a fan of the Dragon Quest franchise, so of course I’ll nab a copy of this remake. I don’t know that much about this game, which is good.

I might consider getting Kingdom Hearts: Re:Coded, not sure yet, though.

Not that much else for DS, so let’s go on to…

…the Nintendo 3DS, coming out, probably, in March. There are quite a few launch titles I’m anticipating, including Animal Crossing, remakes of Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time and StarFox, new Paper Mario, Kingdom Hearts 3DS, two Shin Megami Tensei titles, a Final Fantasy title, a Professor Layton title, a crossover between Professor Layton and Phoenix Wright (not currently slated for release outside Japan), a new Etrian Odyssey title, and a new Kid Icarus game. That’s a strong opening lineup for the 3DS, meaning I will definitely be getting one at launch.

That’s just on Nintendo consoles, which is all I really care about, as I have ever only had Nintendo consoles. I’m considering getting either a PlayStation Triple or an XBOX Circle, but not sure which games to get. I’m not really a PC gamer because I don’t have a computer that can run modern games worth a crap. Hell, the newer desktop I got from the Uni’s surplus sale this past semester can barely play Minecraft. It plays it well enough, and slightly better than my laptop. I bought Super Meat Boy during Steam’s sale, when SMB was, what, $3.75 or so, but SMB refuses to run on the desktop. Ah, not much money wasted there.

So, I’d love to play more PC games, but I have the worst luck with computers and gaming. Hell, I can’t even get the PC version of Final Fantasy VII to run on either of my desktops (both of which run WinXP). Yes, I’ve tried compatibility mode for older Windows OS versions, but it doesn’t seem to work. Guh, I’m just not meant to be a member of the PC gaming master race. I’m a console gamer.

Anyway, yeah, just thought I’d blog about vidya games that I’m looking forward to in this new year (it is now 2011), but I guess the topic was beginning to run away from me. And now I feel that I’m about to go into a diatribe the likes of what Johnny Truant wrote in House of Leaves, so before I do, I’ll draw this to a close.

Leave a Reply

