Today’s Random Top 10: OC ReMixes

So I thought I’d throw together a top ten list, and the first thing that came to mind was OverClocked ReMix.

For those not familiar, OC ReMix is focused on remixing video game tunes, and is “dedicated to the appreciation and promotion of video game music as an art form”.

In coming up with this list, I’m consulting my Last.fm playlists (shameless plug, I know). Without further ado, the Top 10 starts after the jump.

10. Dragon Warrior 3 Flight of Destiny

A remix from one of my favorite entries in the Dragon Quest series. I think this is the only remix from this particular game up on OC ReMix.

9. Thrash’s Snakebone Pit (Snakebone Mansion)

A track from OC ReMix’s “Radical Dreamers: Thieves of Fate” album, based on the Japan-only game “Radical Dreamers”. I’ve actually never played the game.

8. Wizards & Warriors Theme

Definitely one of the lesser-known NES franchises, Wizards & Warriors had three entries on the NES (the second game had Fabio on the cover art). Difficult games, mainly because the game controls weren’t that well refined, but they had some awesome music. This is an equally awesome remix.

7. The Legend of Zelda: Link’s Awakening It’s My Turn to Dream

There are a lot of great remixes based on Link’s Awakening on OC ReMix, but this is one of my favorites.

6. FF7 Voices of the Lifestream 1-09: Nomura Limit (Fight On!)

A great entry from the OC ReMix album “Voices of the Lifestream”. In a surprising twist, I should probably admit that I’ve never completed Final Fantasy VII. I made it to the Temple of the Ancients, but then my file screwed up and wasn’t retrievable. I’ve never made a second attempt to beat FF7.

5. Kirby’s Adventure – Rise of the Star: The Ballad of Sir Kibbles ~ Theme of Dream Hunter

This track is from an OC ReMix album based on Kirby’s Adventure for the NES. I quite like this tune. If you’re not sure who Sir Kibbles is, he’s this guy, who gives Kirby the Cutter ability.

4. The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past Triforce Majeure

An excellent remix from Disco Dan. There’s not much more to say here besides, this is just all around awesomerific.

3. Castlevania: Aria of Sorrow In the Darkness of Time

So, the first Castlevania remix on this list and it’s from Aria of Sorrow, the first game with Soma Cruz. Interesting personal note about this track, I used this over the end credits to a video project some classmates and I put together for a Japanese course.

2. Super Metroid One Girl in All the World

I was debating whether to include either this track or Metroid Prime 3: Corruption Yellow Valkyrie, and, obviously, this one won out.

1. Super Mario 64 Sunken Suite

When I was a kid, playing Super Mario 64 for the first time, Dire, Dire Docks scared the hell out of me. It wasn’t the eel that necessarily scare me, but rather, the sunken ship. Anyway, this orchestral remix of the Dire, Dire Docks theme is absolutely perfect.

Leave a Reply

