Various Torchwood News

July is shaping up to be a huge month for the Doctor Who spin-off. Not only will the third series, called Children of Earth, be aired, but there will be a few radio plays and a soundtrack release.

Torchwood: Children of Earth will have its premiere on BBC 1 on 6 July at 9PM, and will air over five consecutive nights. It will then air on BBC America starting 20 July, also running over five consecutive nights. The third series will also begin on the 20th on the SPACE channel in Canada, and run over five consecutive nights.

New Torchwood radio plays are set to air on BBC Radio 4 starting on 1 July and each will begin at 2:15PM. Here are official descriptions of each episode:

Episode one, Torchwood: Asylum written by Anita Sullivan. When PC Andy arrests a teenager for shoplifting, he thinks it’s going to be a routine case. Then he sees the weapon she’s carrying and decides to call in Torchwood. Under questioning from Gwen, the girl remembers her name but little else, and when she speaks, it is in a strange mix of English and Scandinavian, but with a Cardiff accent. Then the girl’s blood tests come through and the team is faced with a dilemma.

Episode two, Golden Age written by James Goss. On the trail of a dangerous energy field, Torchwood are led to Delhi. As the energy field grows once more, they witness the simultaneous disappearance of hundreds of people. Jack discovers that the field centres on an old colonial mansion – Torchwood India. Shocked to find that Torchwood India is still going strong – he shut it down himself over 80-years ago – he’s even more surprised to find that its members, including his old flame the Duchess, haven’t aged a day.

The final episode, The Dead Line written by Phil Ford. When a Cardiff Hospital is inundated with patients who have fallen into coma like trances, Torchwood move in to investigate. The trances appear to have been triggered by phone calls, all received on retro phones and made from a number that hasn’t been active for over 30-years. Determined to find out who’s been calling the unfortunate victims, Jack rings the mysterious number – two, oh, five, nine – nothing. It’s a dead line. Until, it calls Jack back…

Thanks to Doctor Who Online for the official descriptions.

Looking ahead at the end of July, the Torchwood: Children of Earth official soundtrack will be released on the 27th. What follows is the track listing for the album:

Track List:

1. The First Sacrifice – 1:25
2. What’s Occurring? – 2:10
3. Jack’s Daughter – 1:28
4. Diplomatic Cars – 1:20
5. We Are Coming – 1:12
6. Thames House – 1:53
7. Double Crossed – 1:26
8. Countdown to Destruction – 1:52
9. The Crater – 1:00
10. Torchwood Hunted – 1:42
11. Gwen’s Baby – 1:03
12. On the Run – 1:13
13. Jack in a Box – 1:34
14. Ianto Jones – 0:50
15. Tractor Attack – 2:21
16. Resurrection – 1:11
17. Clement MacDonald – 2:05
18. Something’s Coming – 2:35
19. Eye Spy – 1:20
20. Trust Nobody – 1:46
21. The World Looks to the Skies – 2:10
22. Jack’s Secret – 1:36
23. Clem Remembers – 1:34
24. Judgement Day – 4:05
25. Requiem for the Fallen – 1:23
26. The Ballad of Ianto Jones – 4:36
27. The Final Day – 0:40
28. Calm Before the Storm – 3:22
29. Phase Two Has Begun – 1:50
30. Requisition 31 – 2:38
31. Here Comes Torchwood – 2:24
32. He Was a Good Man – 1:40
33. The Children of the Earth – 3:27
34. Breaking the Connection – 2:25
35. Fighting Back – 2:02
36. Run for Your Lives – 1:13
37. Sacrifice and Salvation – 1:39
38. Redemption – 3:13
39. I Can Run Forever – 3:28
40. Next Time On Torchwood


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s