Terror of the Zygons Review

I’m quickly catching up with the Great 2009 Doctor Who Nap Year Marathon, and now it’s time for my review of “Terror of the Zygons”.

First of all, I really liked the Zygons as a foe. Their design was quite creepy, and it’s always fun to have shapeshifters about. I also liked the cyborg design of their ship, combining organic and inorganic matter in a rather memorable manner.

But no matter how great the Zygons are, what makes this story so great for me is the return of the Brigadier and others at UNIT. Of course, it hasn’t been all that long since we last saw them ([i]Robot[/i]), but, as far as I remember, this marks the last appearance of Lethbridge-Stewart until [i]Mawdryn Undead[/i] (unless I’m mistaken; I’m pretty sure this is the last UNIT story for the Fourth Doctor). Courtney and Baker work well together, and it would’ve been nice to have at least one more UNIT story in Tom Baker’s time as the Doctor.

Other memorable bits from this story include the Loch Ness Monster. The green screen effect there just made me laugh. I mean, it was a neat idea to include the Loch Ness Monster in this, but the special effects just didn’t live up to the idea, and ended up appearing quite funny.

It’s also important to note that, at the end of this story, Harry Sullivan parts ways with the Doctor and Sarah. This brings to an end what had been a terrific grouping of characters. [i]Genesis of the Daleks[/i] and [i]Revenge of the Cybermen[/i] are perfect examples of this. I was sad to see Harry leave the group, but his time on the show was fantastic.

Sorry for the rather brief review.

[b]I give [i]Terror of the Zygons[/i] a 4 out of 5[/b]

Leave a Reply

